Auld Lang Syne

So completely ironic that I would literally start a blog post minutes after the new year when blogging for me was so desolate in 2015.

This year literally was the roller coaster of all years. I’m pretty sure I haven’t had this amount of highs and lows in one year than this past year. Of course a lot of it had to do with the little singer (obviously). Most all one of you know the gist of his adventures this year.

The honest to blog thing is, I have no idea if this is going to pan out or not. If it doesn’t who cares? We had an amazing adventure to this point and what more can you ask for it’s really a million to one shot.

Our trip to NY was amazing, we felt like rock stars, the people loved us and we felt we had a second family in NY. I have a lot to say about it but in the end that may just be it, the end. This industry is so volatile that up to this very moment I’m feeling unsure and down and the momma bear in me is praying for no disappointments for my child. The crazy thing is, he probably will be the last to be disappointed because he is so just “whatever will be will be” kind of attitude. As for me, the disappointment is already rearing its ugly head. Everyone is riding our wave and I don’t want them disappointed either, if that makes sense. No pressure. It’s not so much that he didn’t do great, he did awesome. People just move on I guess. It’s just one of those things that’s hard to explain. I just needed to write it down.

I could completely be wrong and all be sunshine and rainbows in the next few weeks. It’s just that so up and down. Honestly, it’s been that way since the beginning so I should take it with a grain of salt. I will say that he will continue to have the love and support from the local singing community we have so it doesn’t mean he’s done by any means. It’s the “national” scene that is very up in the air.

We had some amazing opportunities and any kid in the nation would be so lucky to have had what he had, definitely something he could randomly bring up as a highlight of his life. I still have to beat myself upside the head to say there should be zero disappointment and that’s just how this craziness works.

As for everything else in the life and times of WM247…I’m strongly thinking more blogging less facebooking. I have seriously gotten to the point where I felt I was completely going crazy if I wasn’t checking it every few hours. I would get the twitch that I probably was absolutely missing something, even right now at this very moment the little red button is lit up and I feel desperately that I need to check it and most likely it’s just a stupid game request. It’s amazing the weird high of warm fuzzies a few “likes” does. I guess it’s the people pleaser in me that makes facebook my addiction. I want people to like me and what better place for them to do it? I took a two day hiatus and it was the best and hardest thing ever and I’m going to try to do that a lot more often. At this point blogging has already been so much more therapeutic and it’s only been all of 20 minutes. Because I can be wordy and it’s totally acceptable if zero read or like it or not. Thank you for listening! This day has just been taxing.

I want to focus on getting my oldest his license and him a job. We just have totally set all driving practice to the back burner because of busyness.

My house has also completely fallen to the wayside because momma just wants to chill the minute she walks in the door from work and then I think of lame excuses that has to do with the little singer and excuse after excuse. I’m over myself and my excuses.

I know that resolutions by no means work for me but maybe if lay all this out instead of let it swirl in my head it will be more actionable and less intentional. Wow, look at me sounding all self reflective.

Bring it on 2016! I’m seriously ready to kick a a* and take names. Sorry but I really needed to say that. Really to kicking my own a* and no one elses…sorta.

 

One thought on “Auld Lang Syne

  1. I deleted facebook from my phone. Which is not to say I don’t check facebook on my phone – just that I do it on my own terms via the phone’s web browser which is frankly just as easy to read on and I feel so much freedom not having notifications. I also turned off my email notifications and pretty much ALL notifications on my phone except text messages and stuff. I’m still totally online addicted but I’m not sucked in by notifications anymore and I love it.

    As for the little singer, I think you’ve already figured out that this just needs to run its course, wherever that course may be. Make sure that at the end of the day it’s always just about him having fun and experiencing new things and doing what he loves because at his age, nothing else matters. Much like blogging, when you love it – it doesn’t matter how big the audience is.

Leave a Reply

