Lean On Me

Caution: This post is a bit of a downer with some melancholy and nostalgia rolled in.  Yeah sorry. It’s really a post for me and to help preserve my memory.

A beautiful little girl passed away way unexpectedly too young earlier this week. This little girl was in the youngest’s class. They really don’t know why or how it happened She hadn’t felt well and they were in the process of figuring out what was wrong-something with her heart and then she apparently collapsed. So very sad.

A few things to note. The principal at this school has always been amazing. I’ve never experienced any other principal (in my own school time and my other two boys lifetime) who goes above and beyond like her. She called every parent of our grade individually to let us know what happened. Who does that? That was probably at least 100 kids parents. Maybe a touch exaggerated but still we have a lot kids.

Secondly, the school and community as a whole..awesome. Maybe because it was just one of those life experiences with a kid in your community passing and my child in a way was affected more closely that I could say that. If that makes sense. In other words I just was never part of something like that before. Cause we don’t get out much?

Anyway the youngest and his little choir crew learned a Lady Antebellum song in two days flat and honored her today at her funeral. So proud. He held strong and did what he needed to do.

Which brings me to my own little story of 5th grade and a friend too young to go. He like this little girl was well known among our grade, she a cheerleader, he a football player, she a singer, he and his friends had their own little band.

At the end of the school year (same school btw) they have the school talent show. Him and his band played Lean On Me.I cannot hear that song without getting a little misty.

A few short days after school was out for the year, he drowned in the Illinois River. He was a friend to everyone. The thing that haunts me so much about his memory is the last conversation I had with him, I’m pretty sure at the end of the school year. “I wish I could see what it will be like in the future.” I don’ t know how this conversation came about or why he even said it to me in particular. I knew him forever but wasn’t what you would call friends with him. Oh the feels.

I say this because my little singer said the same similar thing to me about his friend who really wasn’t his friend but she was a friend to everyone and nice to everyone even the boys as most of the girls he says are pretty mean.

He really did take this ordeal well. This is not an easy thing to deal with for anyone much less a 10 year old.

I’m not sure how to end this, and this certainly wasn’t coherent but I will say hug your kids harder as someone else had to bury hers today.

Leave a Reply

