Take Me To The Ballgame…So My 14 Yr Old Can Network

Last week was our bi annual outing to the ball park for work. I’ve mentioned how spoiled we are in my little department? We get the suite, even if it is a minor league game, I will take free “entertainment” and dinner any day of the week. I’ve actually come around to enjoying watching the games it’s relaxing if anything.

The plan was to bring the whole family again because I literally could not give the tickets away. I guess a Tuesday on a school/work night is not everyone’s ideal time for a ball game. Me? I’m thinking I don’t have to cook. I ended up just taking the older two because the youngest had his singing lessons and we are trying to make that a big priority for now.
I let the older two know that my bosses would be there so they need to play it cool…in other words don’t embarrass mom in front of the bosses. It’s kind of funny how I’m warning them instead of them warning me not to embarrass them. Any who I don’t know if you recall that my middle child has never really known a stranger and can literally walk into a room and own it. When your an introvert like me who has no problem just quietly entering a room and no one really notice even with people you do know and it’s very low key with a “hey how’s it going?” kind of entrance. That’s more my speed, very low key.

When you combine my low key approach to my middle child’s approach of “HEY HERE I AM, THE PARTY CAN START NOW” It takes every fiber in your being to not sink into the floor and feel like you’ve been doused with water like the wicked witch of the west.
That my friends is exactly what happened the very second my hand opened the suite door and didn’t even take two steps inside. My middle son loudly exclaimed, “HEY YOU GUYS MUST BE THE BOSSES!” Granted, there was all of only 3 people in there at the time, 2 of course being the bosses. At that point it was ha ha omg I’m gonna die but funny for everyone, but the worst part was that it then re drew attention to myself as my boss exclaimed, “No your mom is really the boss.” The middle child took it literally and it’s hard to explain to him based on his Aspie ways that he was joking. He couldn’t get over thinking that I was the boss of my boss and was just completely blown away by that. That’s how my middle child suddenly became buddy buddies with my boss and yes was literally giving him marketing advice the entire evening.

My oldest child is just like me in social aptitude and awkwardness, I’m pretty sure he was dying a thousand more times inside than I was. He didn’t want to be there in the first place so this was like complete torture and his brother was the torturer. On the one hand, I am in complete awe of my middle child and that he can literally own the place two seconds after walking in the door. People remember him and feel comfortable around him, maybe because he is the ice breaker of social awkwardness. He is that person at parties that is per say the one you don’t want to be -the life of the party, the wild and crazy guy, because you think people will talk about you later and make fun of you. Since he could care less of what you think of him people flock to that and get a sense of comfort from it.
I will never get over my social inadequacies but it’s nice to know that my middle will never have a problem anywhere.
As we left he high-fived my boss and told him we will have to do this again sometime..maybe a Thunder game or something. You would have thought that he was on a business outing with his marketing ideas and advice. Watch out boss man he’s coming for you.

One thought on “Take Me To The Ballgame…So My 14 Yr Old Can Network

Leave a Reply

