And Another One Down…

We survived the first week of school with little to no scarring except for the scars in my mind of my two oldest children and their quest to achieve school picture day failure. A backwards shirt wouldn’t normally be too much of a big deal and it probably won’t be that noticeable in the picture, it’s just the thought that it was a V NECK shirt of all things. That was probably very noticeable. Unless kids these days are so into their phones walking down the halls that stuff like that really doesn’t get noticed. Scary Thought.

Then there is the oldest and his hair. He has uncontrollable Elvis like hair. It’s crazy thick and crazy. Not to mention the combing regiment, which there is nothing to mention because there isn’t one. The hubs and I have already decided to just let it go…let it go. He’s 15 and he can do what he wants (with his hair). If you saw the Doctor Who special and Strax mentions removing Clara’s hat which was really her hair….cracked me up. Now I call the son’s hair his hat. Shall I remove your hat son? He didn’t find it as comical as I did.

I can only imagine what their school pic looks like. It’s a darn good thing that I haven’t purchased school pics since the oldest was in Pre-K. How lame am I? I know it’s about the memories but why pay for something that I can do myself and control how and when to do it.

I do love these boys and my incessant teasing and gnashing of teeth is only because what little control I do have is zero to one and I know I have to just pick my battles and declare it could be worse, a lot worse.

The youngest is also controlling his mouth so far, which thank goodness that wretched hole punch behavior system from last year is behind us. His teacher seems as if she has some experience under her belt and I believe is going to be a good challenge for this one. He actually admitted that he likes her enough that he’s learning something. Hello Latin contexts in spelling words. Hopefully we have hit the teacher jackpot with this one. Hopefully I didn’t speak too soon.

As for me, my first semester is won and done. I have to admit I enjoyed it for the most part and reading the Wall Street Journal now is a part of my daily routine at work and a lot of terminology from class amazingly pops up in the WSJ. The funny thing is I read it for my own lack of a better term “enjoyment” and not so much for research/discussion for class. It did come in handy though. Now on to Quantitative Business Strategies. Doesn’t that sound like one to lull you to sleep at night? I’m trying to be open minded but it’s really hard when the word “quantitative” is involved.

Lastly I just wanted to randomly say that a co-worker mentioned to me she is writing a book. She never had any aspirations of writing a book but she had a vivid dream that she just could not get out of her mind and finally decided to write about it and it’s just completely evolved from there. She said that she has literally formed spreadsheets of just characterization stuff that isn’t’ completely relevant to the story but a means for her to know her characters inside and out. I found this fascinating. Any who I told her I would love to be what she considers a second reader which means I will get to read it once she is done and then come to her with my input and what not. I mention that I blog and have tens of tons of readers to help spread the word. I don’t always like to mention the blog because it makes me self conscious and I’m not that consistent and well context could use some work. You know like pimples on your pretty face that kind of thing. Anyway she was somewhat intrigued by the blog but thankfully didn’t ask for the url. I don’t think I could have done it…yet. I have close friends that don’t even know about the blog. Sometimes it’s just best to leave it as my own little personal enigma. /total of course randomness right there..again why we don’t give out the url to friends and work peeps. I have to face them everyday, unlike you dear reader who can judge me all day and it not phase me.

 

One thought on “And Another One Down…

Leave a Reply

