The “Library”

Due to the nature of the job I now have; I’ve decided to declare that I work for the library. Why the library? Well they lend out books and sometimes people occur fines, so in a weird crazy reality it’s kind of the same, but of course kind of not. If you recall what the actual job is, than maybe it kind of sorta makes sense. If you don’t. I work for the “library”. We help out with people who borrowed a book and and are now paying back the fines. Some people have trouble paying back those fines and need help. You know the economy? It’s been tough even on those paying back their “library fine”, from the books that were lent to them. Makes sense now? Good!

There are many different plans on getting help to pay back those library fines, it’s unreal. Learning all those plan’s rules, and plus just the library computer system itself has been mind boggling. I’m going to admit, that I hate being the “newbie” and not really knowing anyone and just feeling so overwhelmed in thinking that, “will I ever get this?” It has been so long since I was on the other side of the knowledge spectrum, that it’s really frustrating. I of course know that I’m not expected to “know” everything in 16 hours of work, but it’s still frustrating. I want to know everything NOW not tomorrow NOW!
I have been on the trainer side as well, and you can tell whether most people are going to “get it” or “not get it” in a rather short period of time. Some people never get it, unfortunately. I’m feeling like I’m on the “not get it quite yet spectrum”. The scary part is, sometimes my light bulb comes on way later for certain things than others. It just depends on the nature of the idea I guess. Luckily the new person I sat with today actually reminded me of me in the way she trains…where as, instead of me sitting there just looking and listening, she baby steps me through on “simpler” tasks to start out with me actually doing. She was very sweet and very patient(just like me..haha!). Sadly shes trying to move to another part of the library, along with the dude from yesterday. This part concerns me a bit. The turnover spectrum sounds pretty high, and it sounds like people move around a lot thinking the grass is always greener somewhere else.
I actually totally see why just on the nature of the library fines these people have, and just dealing with them in general, why people move on. Some of these people are on the verge of losing their “library privilege” all together, which can be frustrating. I’m just going to keep on keeping on…lord knows I’ve got to remind myself I’m only on day two. Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

3 thoughts on “The “Library”

  1. Hang in there! There is no way you should/could have this job down in only two days. I know that you know that, but keep your chin high b/c in no time at all, you will be answering questions that others have! Give yourself 6 months, that seems to be the time-frame for comfort. Sounds like a long time, but it will pass in a blink!

  2. I like the analogy of the library – makes sense to me! I always thought it would be fun to work at a library but probably not the kind of library you are talking about.

    I’m sure you will pick it up quick. The first couple days there is so much to learn – people’s names, where the bathroom is, how the computer works, protocol – it’s a lot to take in.

Leave a Reply

