Random Dozen #5


1. What was the last song you listened to? I was really jammin yesterday on the MP3 player while sorting drawers and doing laundry. I can’t remember the exact last song but I did re play some Green Day-Time of Your Life a couple of times. Which I felt was very poignant.

2. Have you ever had “buyer’s remorse” over anything? Yes. I would probably say it was the Kirby vacuum cleaner. Don’t get me wrong it’s an awesome vacuum and does everything but fix your dinner and make the beds. It was just so cumbersome (and expensive) and difficult to change out attachments with out having an engineering degree (and expensive), and not to mention the instructional video was on VHS in a time when DVD’s are the thing and VHS not so much (not to mention expensive). We ended up giving it to my MIL and bought a Dyson.

3. What is something in your life that you are thankful for now that you didn’t think you would be at the time of the event? (Something that seemed ill-timed, inconvenient or hurtful which turned out to be a good thing)
Ooh this is a good one. When I was passed over for a “promotion” at my old work. I couldn’t understand what I had done wrong, when most everyone felt I was very qualified for the position. This kind of thing happens when your so good at what you do on the phones (I promise I’m not trying to brag), that being promoted and not being on the phone hinders everyone and everything else. I did talk to the boss about it and kind of understood the deal. A very good friend of mine got the job. It really all worked out for the best as a bunch of new and unexpected responsibility fell on his shoulders for not that much more pay and he was overly stressed for months. Me on the other hand moved on to a much more easy going department with the same pay plus bonuses. Hindsight is 20/20 ya know.
4. Do you watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade every year? If so, do you have a favorite float or balloon? I used to watch every year when I was little. When we moved to Texas we most often were driving during the Thanksgiving parade. Since we are finally “home” this year and do not have to travel near as much, I’m looking forward to it. The boys on the other hand have never been that much into it the few times they watched. I really don’t have a favorite float, though the animated turkey float always comes to mind.

5. Share a quote, scripture, poem or lyric which has been an inspiration to you lately.
My good blog friend Krissa at Half Asstic sent this scripture to me during our dark days of doom and gloom when the hubs was released from work, and it certainly has been a comfort.
I know the plans I have for you- plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and future.
Then you call upon me and pray to me and I will give listen to you. You will seek me and find me with all your heart. Jeremiah 22: 11-13.

6. This is meant to be a fun question, and this is a G-rated blog, but please share a “guilty pleasure,” something that you enjoy that’s probably not the most edifying, time-worthy or healthy thing you could be indulging in. Did I mention–G rating?
I had mentioned this to another blog friend as we were talking about what our kids watch on T.V. My guilty pleasure is ICarly on Nick. It’s wit for pre-teens and it’s well written and funny. Ahem… but yeah it’s totally for teeny boppers, but my oldest son loves it and I have to accommodate him…ahem.
Lets also not forget keeping my own stash of the kid’s halloween candy and just eating one after the other after the other. I mean I did trick or treat too after all.

7. What Thanksgiving food are you looking forward to? Dessert of course! I’m not that big into the turkey and would rather go for the sides. Green bean casserole, stuffing, mashed potatoes that’s where it’s at.

8. What is your favorite book to read to children, or what was your favorite childhood book? We have this book called The Rumble Town Bus, it’s not a mainstream book that I know of and I’m really not sure where it came from, but I have read it to all 3 boys when they were younger and still do to the youngest. It has great sound effect words that make reading it “fun” and noisy. They love when I do the sound effects and bounce them around on my lap when the bus goes bumping and bouncing all through Rumble Town. I admit I get really into it and imitate how the characters would sound when speaking.

9. Do you collect anything? (Feel free to post a photo.)
Other than dust bunnies and dirty dishes, I do have a secret collection. I have both sets of commemorative Disney glasses from McDonalds that celebrated Disney’s 100 years and then the next year there was another celebration. I love those glasses and no one is allowed to drink from them. I collected them when Gameboy(the oldest) was a baby, and yes I made several runs to McDonalds those years. It actually makes me think of the Smurf glasses from Hardees my mother had many years ago. Sadly I think they all broke. Secretly I would love to have those again too.

10. Gift bags or wrapping paper? I like to wrap presents if I’m not time constrained. I also do kind of like the challenge and relish of unwrapping a package.

11. Share an after-school memory from when you were younger. What was your routine like on an average day? Fun question! My routine consisted of riding home with my best sister friend L after school along with her sisters. Every day L and I would make some kind of after school snack at her house, whether it be Triscuit pizzas, salad, or soft chew cookies slightly warmed in the microwave with milk, it was always something yummy. Then L’s mom would take us on base so she could go to work and we would switch drivers for L’s dad. We would have to cram into L’s dad’s truck and would have to double up on the other two seat belts. Something tells me that kind of safety protocol would not fly anymore leaving base.

12. True story: Once, in a job interview, I was asked this question and told there would be no clarifying; I simply had to answer the question: “When you’re fishing, do you feel for the fish?” So what about you? When you’re fishing, do you feel for the fish??
I haven’t fished in a coon’s age as my mom would say. I would say I certainly do and would try to “feel for it”.

5 thoughts on “Random Dozen #5

  1. So I just went to amazon to look for The Rumble Town Bus because it sounded cute and I thought, “Man, MM would love that!” but I couldn’t find it. :-/ Must be a pretty hard to find book if Amazon doesn’t have it.

  2. I let my youngest son watch Icarly too and I make sure and watch it with him just to make sure it is suitable for him to watch. Ahem. 🙂

    Just how old is a coon? You aint from around here is ya.

Leave a Reply

