Ever Get Perklempt At A Job Interview?

If you’ve read my facebook status than you probably already know where this is going.

Here’s a run down of the job situation. I’ll try to spare you on to many details, but uhm yeah… no guarantees. Good thing I provide a free service around here.
I applied for this customer service type job at “the bank” not exactly sure what I’d be doing, but knew it didn’t have anything to do with the actual banking part, but does have to, if that makes sense. I figured my math skills could always use improvement but surely I won’t have to actually handle people’s bank account doing what I maybe doing.
I filled out the app. online Sunday and got a call back Monday (last week) to come and test for the job and bring a calculator. I admit I was a smidge freaked out because tests that require calculators can’t be too easy. I was right sorta.
The first part was timed and it had to do with grammar, filing systems, and vocabulary/spelling. I seriously felt like the ACT was a tiny bit easier, of course that probably had to do with the fact that I haven’t taken a test quite like this literally since high school. The math part actually wasn’t too bad considering it wasn’t timed and thank God, for my handy dandy calculator I’ve had since my college Algebra days.
I was a bit perplexed about the first part of the test because I was afraid I screwed up the filing/alphabetizing part up due to the funky directions. I expected to take the test and they call you back for the next step, nope she told me instantly that I passed and scheduled me for the first interview. Whew!
The first interview with the recruiter went great. She stated that the initial customer service rep job was already filled but it appeared I would be qualified for a follow up type customer service job in the department that helps prevent people from foreclosure and it pays a little more too. Interesting….I’m all for that. It actually sounds like it could be a very rewarding job, if you can help someone not lose their house. Obviously this department has grown exponentially in the past year according to the recruiter.
I was sent on to my 2nd interview with the manager Monday. I seemed shockingly at ease to talk with him, in fact I feel like I just kept talking and talking and he didn’t have to do much asking. I’m not sure if that was a good thing or bad thing. If you know me well enough, a big talker I am not.
We talked everything from the kind of procedures and policies I had at my old job from “occurrences” to incentives for teams and individuals to how my old job was like a big ol’ family. Then he almost made me cry. It didn’t help that I was already hormonal and a bag full of nerves. He asked “What would C have to say about you, if I were to give him a call?” GULP! Hold down the waterworks! I explained that C (my previous boss) would probably say something along the lines of “We really hated for her to leave, and if I could hire her back right now I would” At least of course I’m “assuming” he’d want me back if possible. 🙂 I mentioned the e-mail that was sent to most of the office and to the big wigs in WI on my last day from both my former bosses; it basically said I was awesome and they will miss me. Because of all of the craziness of my last day..what with Mexican food to be ordered and paperwork to fill out and a “desk” to be cleaned out, I didn’t get a chance to print it out. I guarantee you, if every employee had a letter like that from their former boss, they’d get a job anywhere. I’m just sayin, they were the best!
So I felt really confident that the interview went great or so I thought. He said he had a couple more to go but his people would call my people.These guys don’t play around on getting back to you unlike the hubs 5th interview debacle and still hearing nothing back(btw he obviously didn’t get ithe job which is ok). They called the next day and said they were really interested in me and just needed to go through a few more hoops of background check and reference check. She called back later stating the number to the old office no longer worked…duh to me… the office moved right after I left so I had to look up the new number for her. I was also afraid that C wouldn’t respond to a call from “a bank”, you’d just have to understand “C”. Thank goodness for facebook as I let my homeboy T know to let them know. He had my back! Thanks T! (waves).
From that point I didn’t hear anything Thursday which I kinda thought I would since they were so diligent about getting back to me so quickly. I was actually feeling nervous sick again and thought surely my alter ego didn’t appear on my background check or something..because seriously even though I know for a fact I have no criminal history, it’s one of those crazy paranoia things that maybe I do and didn’t know. I HAS ISSUES!
The recruiter called today right after my mom and I had just gotten in from making a Sonic run. She stated that C had nothing but good things to say about me and she’d like to offer me up a job proposal. Yay! (The congratulations balloons and confetti come down and everyone sings “For She’s a Jolly Good Fellow! That Nobody Can Deny!) All I had to do was jump through one more hoop of paperwork for drug testing and get tested. So, my mom and I took a little jont up to my “new office” to grab my paperwork and find where to test. As long as my rocket fuel Dr. Pepper doesn’t show something crazy I should be good (you know me I am kind of paranoid about it for absolutely no reason). Of course she asked if there was a certain time I wanted to get started once the testing came back. I simply stated I can’t start soon enough! It’s supposed to be 1-3 days before the tests come back and since it’s Friday, I’m guessing it will be Wednesday before I hear anything and possibly I will start the following Monday.
All of this could not have happened at a better time, as the hubs car battery/starter died on him in Dallas last night, while actually doing a small side job for a guy. Needless to say, he had to spend the night in Dallas and wait for this morning to get it fixed (which was not cheap) and the point was to make some money, not actually spend it. Sigh!
Still we are so happy and thanks everyone for their good vibes sent my way. It is so appreciated! Now my blog title really does mean what it says..again. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Ever Get Perklempt At A Job Interview?

  1. YEAAAAAAAAA! This is the best news I have heard in quite a while! Very uplifting post! Don’t be nervous, cause it’s in the bag!
    I will pray for you, sweetheart!

  2. I’m so proud of you! They will be blessed to have a dedicated employee like you! How exciting…things are finally looking up for you guys!

Leave a Reply

