Fisher Price Trio Building Starter Set Review and Giveaway

When I was asked to review the Fisher Price Trio building set, I jumped on it. I knew this was exactly the kind of building set Bossy Boy (5) was looking for back in June for his birthday. He’s very “picky” about the kind of toys he wants to play with, as he feels he has a reputation to withhold with his big brother. He was looking for a “locking building block set” but he didn’t want the sets that were for kids 3-6, he wanted the big kid sets which were way to complex for his age.

We tore into this set the instant he got home, as I just could not wait for him to dive in. I was impressed that he was able to build the ship you’ll see in the video with no help whatsoever from me. Normally, even the easier “locking building block sets” are still too overwhelming and complicated for him to build from the instructions, and he usually always needed some kind of help.

I loved the amount of pieces you got with the set including; a car, a man, and the walls and roof to make a building.  Bossy Boy wanted to make just about every item in the booklet and we pretty much have  to this point, which is also something we’ve rarely done with other building sets, as it was either to difficult for even my ninja constructing skillz or just looked to time consuming. If it takes too long for a parent much less a kid to build, you know the kid is gonna lose interest. This was never the case with the Trio Building Set.

Bossy Boy has played with the set pretty much everyday for two weeks since he got it, and he has yet to lose interest in it. I’m very impressed with that. The things this kid has built with it has also amazed me, his imagination has just ran wild with it from castles, to robots, to ships. It’s very rare for him to hold interest in a toy like this for this long. I strongly suggest that if you have a kid between 3 and 6 that this set be a must have for Christmas or a birthday (I really wouldn’t make that kind of statement if I didn’t believe it). I also think that it’s not gender specific and that little girls would enjoy it too.  The blocks lock together nicely and hold secure and come apart easily, which is great for little hands that still have that trouble of getting them apart.

I have one very small suggestion for this product; the storage container lid should hold better. I think I understand their thinking in that it’s easier for little hands to get it open by just lifting off the lid. The only problem is, if it’s accidentally knocked over with lid on everything tumbles out, as the lid just sets on top of the container (not that I would know anything about that or anything). This is really the only drawback I saw. I can deal with that.

Overall: I loved this product and so did Bossy Boy. I’m certainly planning to buy more at Christmas, including the themed sets which have castles, police stations, and even little critter sets.

For those interested; Fisher-Price is offering a $5 off coupon for any Trio Building Set. SWEET!

Even better, how would you like to win one? Fisher-Price and Mom Select are going to let little ol me give a set away. Just tell me in the comments what is your child’s must have play with non-stop toy of all time? That’s it, easy as pie!
I will run the contest until the 3rd of October (which happens to be my birthday..not that means anything or anything) and volunteer my crafty kids some way to come up with a random winner.
-For an extra entry, Tweet about this giveaway and leave me a comment with the url saying you did so.

I received the Trio Building Set from Fisher-Price for free as an opportunity to review the product and share my thoughts with my readers. I was not compensated in any other way.

20 thoughts on “Fisher Price Trio Building Starter Set Review and Giveaway

  1. This would be fun for my son for Christmas! He loves the Duplo style legos we have and always wants to play with the “real” legos that my husband has. Unfortunately he can’t do much with them yet since they are so small. But I bet this would be perfect for him!
    His other must have toys are cars. He always has to have one in his hand when going in the car, the bath, to bed, etc!

  2. It would definitely be our ltitle one’s Dora Dollhouse. Iy’s non-stop fun, she loves it! Thanks for the chance to win this fun prize.

    • Hi Becky, You won the Fisher Price Trio Blocks. I’m so sorry it has taken so long to get back with you, I will admit I completely forgot about the giveaway! Doh! So if you could send me your snail mail, I will certainly guarantee you get it by Christmas. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Jean

  3. Right now my niece and nephew are beyond interested in puzzles! My Mom has bought them 15 or more in the last 2-3 months, and they just sit there putting them together. 🙂

  4. My child is still an infant right now, and her must have is her exersaucer. But I’d win this for my nephew and his musthave play with all the time toy is his brio trainset he got.

  5. Today I had a birthday party for my son and he got the basic Trio set and the fire station set. Both look like so much fun but wanted to add that not all of the sets come in a plastic storage tub. The ones my son received come in cardboard boxes…I wish they all came with storage.

Leave a Reply

