My Thoughts On EA Active

After months of begging and pleading and then getting messed over on Ebay when I ordered it and never got it, the hubs  finally caved and let me get the EA Active. He doesn’t believe I’ll stick with it for the 30 day challenge, as he has to constantly remind me of my Billy Banks fad that I never stuck with. Which I DID, just apparently not long enough.

I will say right up front that if you aren’t currently in some kind of exercise regime before starting and apparently hauling laundry and mowing yards does not count, it will kick your butt in 3 different languages after the 1st day. Just a word of caution. I seriously wished for crutches as my legs had not been that whooped since high school, and even then I don’t think it was quite this bad. Though I am old and decrepit now, so that may have something to do with it.

The EA Active basically sets up a personal exercise journal where one day you may focus a lot on lower body and the next upper. There is a lot of mixture of both as well, but you start realizing after the 3rd day that things get more focused.  It keeps track of your calories burned for each exercise and graphs your daily progress. No workout is ever the same and each day  one or two new ones are added in.  You can see your planner and what is set for the next day or through the week. Yes it even has rest days, which I thought was awesome especially since I was still dying after day 2. I love that it keeps track of everything like that.

You can also  customize your workouts and not per say do the 30 day challenge. I haven’t looked into that part yet but I’m sure I will soon.  Various  exercises include running, arm strength with the band, squats (which is what got me into trouble in the first place), even inline skating, cardio dancing and boxing.  You also have the option to choose whether you have the Wii fit board or not. That’s next on my wish list.

Overall I can really feel it working, I sweat like a pig and that’s what really matters. I like how it gives you a mini video of how the exercise works and you then follow along with “her” at the bottom of the screen. If you aren’t doing it correctly it gives you a list of guidelines to correct  and it will not continue until proper position of the wii remote/your body is placed. This is a good and bad thing. Good if you are indeed doing it wrong. Bad if you are doing it RIGHT and it still does not move. I’m not sure if it was just the sensor not picking up the movement or what,  but there were some routines that took me 10 minutes to get to the next rep even though I was doing it right. Yes “she” gets a little curt with you while also waiting for you to position right.

I think if your looking for something different than just a mindless work out DVD, the EA Active should fit the bill. The “game”  is personalized on you and it knows by your body weight/height what areas need to be worked on, something a DVD can’t give you.

(I was not paid or the game given to me for free by EA Active to do this review. I just figured you might want to know, you know?)

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts On EA Active

  1. Oh, man! I am sore just reading this. Have I ever mentioned the only thing I can do that is the least be physically remarkable is bend over and put my hands on the floor. Flat. I am long legged and short-waisted, (which seems even harder to me), and nobody else I know my age can do it. But ask me to run three steps? I want to cry when I am done.
    I. AM. SO. OUT. OF. SHAPE.

Leave a Reply

