What’s On Your Nightstand?


It’s that time of the month again to discuss what we have read and what we plan to read at 5MinutesforBooks.
I have thrown caution to the wind the past few weeks and have not stuck to any of my reading lists both classic, and contemporary. I almost feel freed. I think I really did stress to much over the “list”. I’m glad I let myself go; though I can’t give myself the credit, as 90% of the time the library just didn’t have what I thought I needed at the time.
The one book that stood out this month was A Tree Grows In Brooklyn. I’d like to say this book found me as I wasn’t really looking for it. I’m so glad it did and it couldn’t have come at a better time in my life. It was a great book and deserves all the raves it gets.

I’ve also ran into some duds during my quest for the “unlisted” book. A few I couldn’t even finish and strangely, can’t even remember what they were.

I’m currently reading The Language of Bees which is part of a series of mysteries by Laurie King. Since I’m not one to follow chronological order when reading a series; I picked this one up intrigued by the idea of Sherlock Holmes settling down with a young wife, who becomes his “Mr Watson” in solving a murder mystery that involves Holmes estranged son. I’m enjoying it a lot and if I’m ever up for another good mystery, I know what series to turn to.
Next on my agenda is the The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. I’ve heard lots of good reviews on this one and feel pretty confident it will also be a winner.

I’ve been reading so many period pieces lately that after Potato Peel Society, I really want to get my hands on something more modern and light. I have yet to read the Shopaholic series and think I’m overdue for some light chick lit.
I think that covers my plans. I really am not going to stress so much over the list anymore, even though I do like to have something to refer to when needed. I’m sure once the library settles down from the extreme traffic of the summer, I’ll be back to my scheduled list in no time.

4 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand?

  1. Lists are for you. DO not let the list boss you around. 😉 haha

    I hate reading chick lit! LOL Sorry! Do I lose my “girlie” card because of that? :-p I haven’t read a thing in forever. But that is summertime for ya! haha

    Enjoy whatever you decide to lay your hands on and read! 🙂

    • I admit I’m not a big chik lit reader either. I will however admit, that I am a sheep and feel I have to at least find out what all the fuss is about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

