What Hurts The Most

Today was one of those days where I thought things were going to be ok and it turned completely upside down.

I’m not sure if because my children have been in lock down for so long that their feeling like caged tigers or what, but someone’s hormones were flying and it wasn’t just mine.

The plan was, I was going to head to the grocery store before the library opened, then swing by and grab some books, turn the other two boys  reading list in, grab some grub, and then swing back home so we could head to the mall just to hang. Usually I’m not one to change plans-I really get irritated when things don’t go as planned but here lately I’ve really learned to overcome this minor defect in my character. Someone else though, has now taken over my burden.

I decided that I didn’t want to leave the groceries in the 90 degree plus car while in the library; because eggs and heat just don’t jive  and besides,  I spent someones hard earned tax dollars of  79 cents for those eggs (score) not to go bad. Anyways… I figured we could just head to the library on the way to the mall and be done with it. Gameboy was none to pleased with my plan when I came home when he found out I hadn’t stopped at the library. He got so mad that he literally kicked me hard in the leg!

Shock and disbelief was an understatement of how I felt. What hurt the most was my heart, way more than my leg (it was so hard not to burst into tears right there on the spot) and I just had no idea what to say.  He stated that he was just releasing frustration. I let him know that one does not release their frustration this way on their mother. I sent him to his room and then ran and tattled on him to his dad. Oh yes my maturity level was so there, besides I knew his father would be better able to convince him this was not cool, way better than I could have.

His father had no problems convincing him. He’s grounded for two weeks from everything electronically, but more importantly, he saw clearly his mistake. He apologized and we both shed some tears together.  I am now at his mercy (or is it he is at my mercy?) to which puts me at an advantage, because for the next two weeks we’re having a big ol’ purge party and I’m pretty sure he will not be bored.

5 thoughts on “What Hurts The Most

  1. Oh, bless your heart! I hate those kinds of days with the kids! I have spent more than a few moments with my feelings hurt from the pre-teens we had in this house, in my bedroom crying and trying not to let them see it. They just get so dang mean when they are trying to get grown.
    The good news is they turn out to be real people on the other side of it all. 😉

  2. I’ve had a few days like that myself! It’s like they can’t communicate their feelings properly so they vent by saying and doing terrible things. Boys are rough, but they say girls are even worse and it happens on a more regular basis with them!

  3. Oh no. I actually cried when I read this. I’m so sorry. I bet that was incredibly hard to deal with. I take it there was no library or mall trip following that?

    By the way, I have had many similar conversations with myself like you had with yourself about the eggs.

Leave a Reply

